Skip to content

Snippets

May 6, 2011
Eric Overmyer and Michael Cerveris

Last week Mr. Eric Overmyer joined the rather substantial crowd of viewers at the HiHo Lounge. He was joined by actor Michael Cerveris among others. Before the episode started, we spoke a bit about how much fun it is to watch with others, a crowd. In fact, I am usually watching the crowd during the episode as much as I am the episode itself. Evidently he feels the same and told me that he’s been checking out various viewings in other bars around town. He very kindly allowed me to take a picture.

After sitting through nearly half an hour of the atrocious Game of Thrones (just my opinion, folks!), I was tempted to go ask him if he couldn’t write in the line said to a newly impregnated ultra-white princess type as she beams happily, “It is a gift from the Great Stallion.” I mean, c’mon, couldn’t it be a throw away for Antoine or maybe even in a more ironical tone, Davis? I resisted asking Mr. Overmyer to write it in, but just in case he’s reading this, hey, Mr. O, think about it.

The scene with Albert lovingly working that plaster made me flash back to the Wire. I watched Albert’s face and suddenly thought of Lester Freamon carefully making his miniatures. I may have been one of the only ones flashed on that, but here you are seeing how my twisted little stream of thought balloons works.

While some reviewers seem to feel that the music scenes take away from the story line, I have to tell you that it’s only because they’re not here. Every single music scene had the crowd at the HiHo bobbing and foot tapping, including all four of the women of a certain age sitting near the front. It seemed so natural for that to happen as that’s what happens in our daily life here—we walk down the street and hear music notes from down the block. Sometimes, if we’re not in a hurry, we follow the notes, take a breather, enjoy the music then go on our way. The crowd at HiHo watched the episode the same way. It didn’t appear to me that any of them were unduly upset by an “interruption” in the story line. In fact the total opposite was true and that delighted me.

When the episode was over, I stopped by Mr. O’s table and told him that if Albert got killed off, a lot of people including me would be very, very upset. He said, “No. He’s way down on the list.” Of course I didn’t really expect him to tell me who and I’m not sure I can believe him on this, but I am hoping that that’s the truth.

I also told him that my goal is to be Aunt Mimi when I grow up. Smiling, he said, “What? You aren’t already?” Uh huh. I did TOO take that as a compliment.

This week “the REAL Davis” is scheduled to attend and play after Treme at the HiHo. Wasn’t sure if I’d go again this week, but might just have to if only to see the look on the crowds’ collective faces when they see the real guy. Most of them haven’t (I asked) and I think many will be expecting someone far less imposing than Davis Rogan.

9 Comments
  1. May 6, 2011 10:33 am

    You know, in the tradition of L’esprit de l’escalier I’d always wished I’d gotten famous on the day after The Storm when a network stuck a camera in my face on Bourbon Street . I should have said:
    “Listen. It’s the first time ever that there’s no music playing in the air of New Orleans.” And it’s true, it’s a part of the very air here.

  2. adrastosno permalink
    May 6, 2011 10:50 am

    >>While some reviewers seem to feel that the music scenes take away from the story line, I have to tell you that it’s only because they’re not here.<<

    People aren't as used to the musical format, which is one reason for that. BUT the non-natives I know seem to be getting a bit restless since the first two episodes have been heavy on exposition. Those of us who know about that period know that some serious shit is about to happen and I hoping some of the shit hits the fan in the next episode.

  3. wigatrisk permalink
    May 6, 2011 11:05 am

    Thanks for that, tres cool. I thought of Lester’s miniatures too when I finally got to watch this great episode last night. Great music, beautifully shot scenes, and really arresting development of a duality between the strivers/hustlers and the resigned.

    I found the Annie/subdudes scenes in the season premiere to feel like a fraction too long, but I think that was only the anticipation of the story to get going after waiting for the season to begin. Otherwise the music scenes feel superbly edited and incorporated. More Stanton Moore please.

  4. Davis Rogan permalink
    May 6, 2011 11:31 am

    how can i be less imposing?

  5. May 6, 2011 11:36 am

    I just got here, evidently just in time! What I said was that you are far MORE imposing than Steve Zahn, who I really like, but he doesn’t quite measure up to your imposing physical stature. There were some folks I spoke with who had never seen you in person. I tried to explain that you’re not a wiry little guy, that you’re very tall. I think they’re expecting McAlary.

  6. May 6, 2011 4:05 pm

    That’s what I thought you meant, Sam. Those people are gonna be in for a surprise.😉

  7. doctorj2u permalink
    May 6, 2011 6:40 pm

    I always thought I was an American, through and through, until Katrina. It was then that I learned that we were different somehow from most “Americans”. We had no value to them because all we had to offer was culture, which meant absolutely nothing to them. When I read the reviews that say that the music interrupts the story, I have to look at it as another example of how we are apart. I realize that there are many Americans that value what we offer (just look at Eric and David), but in my experience fighting for the city, what New Orleans brings to this world is not valued by the masses. We are like jazz in the music world, highly valued by some and dismissed by most. My lesson from ths knowledge is to revel in its beauty. It is enough.

  8. NickTheChiller permalink
    May 8, 2011 6:48 pm

    I’m four states north of you guys, and I love the music scenes. Have you guys seen the movie, Once? After seeing it, I described it to my friends as a musical of the purest form. It is a movie about musicians doing what musicians do: play music and live their lives. None of the contrived sing/talking of dialog, but real musical performances by real musicians throughout the movie. To me, Treme has a similar feel, and I love it.

    If you think the music is boring, or is getting in the way of the story, (In the words of Jay-Z) I feel bad for you, son.

  9. gabal permalink
    May 9, 2011 2:18 pm

    The music in the series is a single reason why I think “Treme” has potential to be even better then “The Wire”. When I started watching it I didn’t know much about New Orleans but after viewing it I would go to find out about things I just saw. If I ever visit the States again I’m coming to New Orleans to experience it myself.

Comments are closed.

