Skip to content

Stubborn Kind Of Fellow

May 3, 2011

There’s a thin line between pride and stubborness.  It’s one of the things I took away from episode-2: both Albert Lambreaux and Davis McAlary did things not because they were wise or the right thing to do but because of who they are.

Albert, of course, told Delmond, “You know I don’t take money from my chirren” when his usually self-absorbed son offered. Proud or stubborn? Delmond called him stubborn but it sounded like pride to me. He should also be proud that he raised kids who want to help their father out. The Big Chief done good, y’all.

Davis continued his ongoing fight with his station manager and finally got the bounce for playing too much sissy bounce. Proud or stubborn?

We’re all inclined to think of the Big Chief as the proudest character on the series but he’s been looking very beaten down and defeated so far. And who can blame the poor bastard? Flooded, ejected by his shithead bar owner “friend” and screwed by the insurance company. $495 dollars? In the immortal words of the Dollar Bill Jefferson of The Wire, Clay Davis, “Sheeee-it.”

As for Davis, things seemed to be looking up: Annie has been good for him. He’s even been a bit less annoying but he’s still as stubborn as a very well bred mule. He couldn’t resist cocking a snook at authority and sissy bouncing his way off the air. Btw, I loved the scenes at his parents’ house and his growing alarm when he realizes that his Uptown lady of a mother likes Annie.

In Davis’ case, I’m not sure he’s got a lot to proud of: he strikes me as a Stubborn Kind Of Fellow.

Hit it, Marvin:

3 Comments
  1. Dexter permalink
    May 4, 2011 12:25 am

    That was an authentic-as-hell State Farm check. I have had a few in my life and I always have said “sheeee-it”.
    Big Chief looks beat, yeah, but his crew still be sewin’.

    I enjoyed the CBS interview with your mayor (60 Minutes). How’d it strike you?

  2. adrastosno permalink
    May 4, 2011 10:27 am

    Mitch can be a very charming guy and he obviously charmed the hell outta Byron Pitts.

  3. doctorj2u permalink
    May 4, 2011 9:28 pm

    I totally relate to the pride of the chief, but I am of his generation. Like him, it is who I am ….. and it is hard ….and right.

Comments are closed.

