Skip to content

O Beautiful Storm

March 23, 2011

The producers of Treme made an interesting choice (for me) of a spoken word poet to voice over the promo for Season Two. Dave Walker of the Times-Picayune profiles Gian Smith and publishes the poem (which is also now up on Toulouse Street.)

The teaser reminded me of the powerful scene in When The Levees Broke, the spoken word poem by Shelton Alexander that became the epigram when I collected some of the pieces of Wet Bank Guide into the book Carry Me Home: “I told you I would be here./It was important that I came.”

The poem foreshadows what is promised to be a gritty second season, featuring among its story lines the return of violent crime to a city learning that for New Orleans, the P in PTSD means perpetual, not post. If you haven’t watched the teaser its the previous post. Give a listen to Smith’s words.

— Wet Bank Guy

2 Comments
  1. doctorj2u permalink
    March 25, 2011 8:34 pm

    Thank you West Bank Guy for posting. I looked up the artist on You Tube and found this, the artist speaking his poem.

    I cannot wait for season 2 to begin.

  2. April 15, 2011 2:17 pm

    He looks very much like his father, who is a very good friend.

    Love, C.

Comments are closed.

