Skip to content

HBO & Treme To Screen “Frank’s Place” One Night Only

May 10, 2010
by

They’re giving back.

HBO and Treme will be hosting a rare screening of Frank’s Place on May 24th to benefit The New Orleans Center for Creative Arts (NOCCA).

Before the two episodes are shown, Tim Reid (the distinguished Judge John Gatling in last night’s episode), Hugh Wilson (co-creator) and Lolis Elie will be on a panel discussing the show’s import — Kevin Allman of The Gambit will be moderating. Details here.

A rare opportunity to catch a gem of television history that was almost forever lost to us.

7 Comments
  1. virgotex permalink*
    May 10, 2010 2:11 pm

    It’s not exactly clear from Kevin’s post whether the show will be aired on HBO, or just shown at the panel discussion (sponsored by HBO). I’m assuming the latter.

  2. May 10, 2010 2:31 pm

    I assume the latter as well, which is why I’m sad I can’t be in NOLA for it.

  3. Kevin permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:57 pm

    Virgotex, I don’t know if ‘Frank’s Place’ is eventually going to be shown on HBO — Tim Reid is pretty clear that he won’t release it without all the original music intact, and that’s an expensive prospect. But it would be less expensive, surely, than commissioning an all-new series for HBO. At the panel, I’ll certainly ask if HBO is considering the notion…as well as if there’s been any movement on the DVD front. Tim’s wife Daphne (who co-starred in the show) says she has an email list of people who have written to the Reids saying they’ll buy a DVD box set if one is ever produced.

  4. ferngrrl permalink
    May 10, 2010 4:28 pm

    T-P suggests “the latter” is correct: “… the production and HBO are planning a public event, to include a screening of several “Frank’s Place” episodes (the series is not available on DVD) and a panel discussion to include Reid and co-creator Hugh Wilson, to continue the homage. May 24 is the tentative date of the event, further details of which will emerge in the next few days.”

    P.S. On May 24th there will be a benefit for people dealing with the spill that has so many of us distracted and sick-at-heart–some good music.

  5. May 11, 2010 1:05 am

    Great show; I still remember it. We could tell from the first episode that it wouldn’t be on long, and made a point of never missing it.

  6. May 12, 2010 6:58 pm

    Absolutely the best show ever. Much as I love Treme, nothing, NOTHING can top Frank’s Place. My husband has worked for years to locate episodes in various formats and has been very successful. Now they have been transferred to DVD for us to watch whenever. We are among those passionately waiting for the DVDs. I went to New Orleans in 1989 for my honeymoon — because of this show. We ate a fantastic dinner at Chez Helene, the restaurant the show was based on and got some cooking tips from Austin Leslie. I have been back to New Orleans 15 times since. My life would be completely different (worse, I’m sure) it it weren’t for this show.

  7. TV Gord permalink
    June 18, 2010 9:24 pm

    Daphne is speaking the truth about the list of people signed up to buy any Frank’s Place DVDs that are released. I’m on that list! I would pay any price and I agree with Tim. The original music needs to be included. (It’s a shame what they did to WKRP.)

Comments are closed.

