Skip to content

Breaking It Badly

April 25, 2010
by

*Note: I had this idea, this notion, that looking at anything about an episode without watching the episode was going to spoil it for me.  Did it really? Read on…

It’s a cardinal rule ’round this blog – no spoilers – that I happened to “break” last week, but I largely kept it to myself – ’til now, that is.

I am a self-described twaddict, see. I hop on the Twitter service, where the world’s largest ongoing conversation is happening and I am instantly plugged in to what my group of 300-plus followees is up to, and last week, around 9 PM CST, with the rain coming down like various farm animals falling from the sky (as it is wont to do sometimes here in New Orleans), I just didn’t feel like schlepping off to a local bar…so I took in some hints and allegations from Twitter folks instead.

Soulprncs3 Okay, who won the pool of how long it took for a Voo Doo reference?

WeeLaura Please get me the number of this scruffy hottie playing the street keyboardist. Or just deliver him to my bed pronto.

DebCotton Hey! What’s wrong with Black Jewish ppl and Brazil???

harrislacewell #Treme killing Tulane and “identity politics” majors. LOL. I’m screaming laughing. Academic jokes tickle me. I’m a nerd

champsuperstar How can I get a part on Treme? I don’t know what cliche I might/might not represent.

Pontchartrain Oh gawd, I see where they’re going with this musician guy and his girlfriend.

Yes, there’s snippets of favorite dialogue that end up on Twitter as well. Last week’s episode had folks tweeting some “For you girl I am crossing mighty rivers and shit” and “I’m’a kill that man…twice.” So there are some general ideas conveyed with regards to what comes up as Twitter people are watching the episode…but as for its effectiveness as a spoiler engine:

Frolic Following this show on Twitter is like being in Plato’s cave.

True dat, as they say.

You still have to see it to believe it.

5 Comments
  1. April 25, 2010 3:00 pm

    I don’t see how you’re breaking the rule by looking at tweets in NOLA time zone, especially given the gimme-a-minute-to-type-this-into-Twitter time delay. Personally, I don’t care if you have written or memorized the script of every show until the end of the last season, as long as you don’t talk about it here before all of it has aired.

  2. April 25, 2010 3:33 pm

    Last December, driving back from meeting @Dangerblond in Biloxi to see Rob Thomas (she humors me), I was pretty much able to follow the Saints game just by watching TweetDeck on my iPhone, thanks to all y’all. Don’t tell anyone, though, ’cause I shouldn’t have been doing that while I was driving.

  3. April 25, 2010 7:04 pm

    I “watched” the premiere on Twitter, since I wasn’t able to actually suckle at the (other) glass teat that night — and it was fascinating. It gave me a bit of a window into the national mindset. The Mystikal moment loomed large.

    Thru Twitter I even managed to connect the premiere to a presentation I made on Thursday. I showed a screenshot of a tweet from a local author that commented on the premiere — and come to think of it that’s the first time I’ve ever showcased expletives at the University. Hm.

    Anyway, Liprap, I’m still not sure how you broke the rule against spoilers.

  4. April 25, 2010 7:22 pm

    I’m usually following the subject on Twitter when I watch television, but didn’t with Treme. Maybe part of it is the 10:00 start, kind of my bed time – ish, but mostly, to pay attention. Maybe I’ll try doing both tonight, especially since I know I’m going to watch the episode over and over.

  5. liprap permalink
    April 25, 2010 9:50 pm

    I’ve found, through the internets, that I can watch the latest episode just after it airs on HBO, and last week, I had this weird idea that I maybe should be staying off Twitter before I go to watch it, as whatever I’d see through people’s comments might spoil things for me somehow…but the effect was exactly the opposite, and it was a lot of fun. Made me want to see the episode even more, really….especially as one could tell that most folks on Twitter at that moment were getting into the story and were tweeting less.

    Just my own warped little mind at work, kinda, sorta…

Comments are closed.

