Skip to content

The Notes Has Arrived And More Woohoo

April 17, 2010
by

So it seems Big Red Cotton has thrown the stylin’ website Notes from New Orleans out onto the internets….and a good chunk of it contains some blogging goodness from her on Life in the Treme:

For me, home is New Orleans – more specifically my neighborhood Faubourg Treme in the 6th ward. This blog is a chronicle of all things Treme: the residents, business owners, culture, traditions and day to day life (including the filming of the HBO show) that makes this neighborhood my favorite part of the world, the place I choose to lay my head at night, the place I call home.

I look forward to reading more of Big Red’s 6th Ward wisdom, for certain. One can also follow her through her Twitter handle.

Another reason for woohoo? The mention of Back of Town blogmaestra Maitri’s latest post as a Crooks and Liars blog round-up selection. Thanks for the find, Ray.

Hearty congratulations all around to both blogging broads.

4 Comments
  1. April 17, 2010 9:40 pm

    OK, I bow down. That “Notes on Episode One” was the shit. Wish there was a way to leave comments.

    The comments on Wendell’s diction rings true to me, ’cause as an Algiers/Uptown kid who can at least fluently transate Yat & Chalmatian, I have to admit that the only person in the band whose dialog I understood every word of the first time through was Wendell’s.

  2. virgotex permalink*
    April 17, 2010 10:12 pm

    “Ain’t nothing wrong with that character — that’s how them white boys are!”

  3. April 17, 2010 10:59 pm

    Damn. Just damn.

    But keep in mind that without Wendell we lose America. He’s a door into the rest. He’s a fine enough actor you give him some time and he could probably get it down so you wouldn’t notice but we have to leave some windows cracked or a lot of people from far Elsewhere just aren’t going to get in.

  4. April 18, 2010 6:10 pm

    “I would encourage him to get him a sister from the hood – she can loosen that stiff tongue right up.” Damn, girl. Then again, his current girlfriend Desiree sounds quite Black New Orleans middle class.

Comments are closed.

