Skip to content

Late Breaking Anticipation

April 13, 2010

Whew. Okay now. Treme. Where to begin?

I’m sitting in my home of the last 10 months in Cincinnati, an unlabeled videotape on the entertainment center shelf practically throbbing with the potential to take me back to nearly five years ago. I’ve heard so much about it, even avoiding most of the commentary (a few posts here and the Colbert appearance are pretty much it).

I know Goodman’s character is loosely based on Ashley Morris, saw it on Colbert and it shook me up a bit.

I known that there is a Davis character based on Davis Rogan, who I’ve known since high school. Something that is both good and bad.

I know I’m going to be starving for New Orleans food by the time it’s over.

And I’m worried that I might cry.

It’s supposed to start three months after the levee failure if I understand correctly. If that’s right then my wife and I have already been back amidst the wreckage for almost six weeks at the time of the opening scene..

I’ll be back soon to share my reaction, I’ve waited long enough to get ahold of this. It is time for anticipation to pass me a Pimms Cup and get out of my way.

5 Comments
  1. April 13, 2010 9:28 pm

    You’ll probably cry. I did, after I caught my breath, and I didn’t even live there. And when you’re done watching, and pulled back together, we’d like to become fans of Back of Town Blog on FB & follow on Twitter, please sir. TIA. xoxoxo *ducks*

  2. April 13, 2010 9:29 pm

    Yep, like a little girl, Loki. You’re gonna cry like a little girl.

  3. April 13, 2010 11:30 pm

    Loki don’t cry. Sometimes he just shaves his head.

    Curious to know what you think my friend.

    Peace,

    Tim

  4. April 14, 2010 9:56 am

    Can’t wait to read your impressions of Treme….I love this blog…

  5. April 14, 2010 10:10 am

    Working on my initial reactions right now. Look for a post soon. As to the blog, thanks Maitri, she is the instigator and founder. I am but a lowly blogger in the media mines.

Comments are closed.

