Skip to content

Mostly devoid of meta-nola cred, I’m just here for the show

March 27, 2010

Hey y’all. Testing the waters with some very preliminary thoughts on the show as well as an introduction for those wondering who I am and why I’m here.

In this joint’s Venn diagram, I’m in the section where previous Simonverse cult blogging overlaps with the ragtag alliance fostered between First Draft’s extended family and NOLA bloggers following Katrina.  My understanding of post-Katrina New Orleans has been from the outside looking in, but with a vantage point closer than many. This due almost entirely to NOLA bloggers standing witness — moms, dads, artists, doctors, lawyers, nerds and geeks — regular joes who never chose to be “boots on the ground” eyewitnesses, and had enough to do just getting on with their own fucking life after the flood, but day in and day out cobbled together a narrative window into a New Orleans that was otherwise either completely ignored or badly distorted by mainstream news and media. Those of us that chose that narrative are in their debt.

And, speaking of choices:

“Man I knew you’d come back!”

“Yeah, I knew you’d never leave.”

This is where the story starts.  Did you stay or did you leave? If you left, did you think twice about coming back? Now you’re here, how the fuck you gonna make it? These choices tell your story, even if they are denied you, even when they are forced on you. Tell me your whys and why nots.

We already know at least most of the facts, the larger pieces of what went down in New Orleans after the storm and the flood.  Some posting here know the people Treme’s characters are based on. But in this first season, starting in late fall, 2005 and ending with the first Mardi Gras after Katrina, what story is is David Simon going to tell America about America? Because all David Simon stories are about America.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

2 Comments
  1. March 29, 2010 2:31 pm

    Remember Shelton Alexander’s spoken word piece in When the Levees Broke, which ends: “I told you I would be here. It was important that I came. I’m going now, but I’ll be back. Will you?”

  2. March 29, 2010 5:03 pm

    thanks for bringing that up- I remembered the piece and its power but not the specific words. Been thinking I need to rewatch WTLB since it appears to have informed Simon’s vision.

Comments are closed.

