Skip to content

Realism

March 25, 2010

Eric Overmyer’s presentation to the Tennessee Williams Festival as covered by Doug McCash, who seems at times to be auditioning to play the lead role in One Dead in Gambit: A Columnist’s Terribly Fascinating Life Story.

About the title. Overmyer said the historic neighborhood serves as a symbolic stand-in for the whole Crescent City. Treme, he said, is a beautiful word. Anyway, “it’s a better title than Marigny,” he said. “Nobody would be able to pronounce it.”

About the accents. It was a casting rule, Overmyer said, that everyone audition in their natural accent, no contrived New Orleans, Southern, or Cajun accents allowed. “People talk a million different ways here,” he said. About realism. Overmyer said that there will, of course, be errant details. In a recently shot scene, for instance, the producers mixed members of uptown and downtown Mardi Gras Indian marching groups, which, he realizes, some New Orleans viewers will find ludicrous.

OH MY GOD they mixed up their Indians. I’m not watching now. Cancel my HBO, and get that godawful fourteen function remote off my coffee table. I’m going back to watching super-extended-play speed, off-the-air VHS copies of Homicide.

— wet bank guy

10 Comments
  1. March 25, 2010 2:33 pm

    Aw, man, and I was hoping for ten minutes of explication about the sequins vs. no sequins Uptown/Downtown divide. Wouldn’t THAT confuse the Hollywooders, who are probably gonna wonder why Simon chose to have black actors playing Native Americans instead of getting Native American actors to make it more “real”.

    They talked about the accent thing at last year’s TWF. About how awful it would be to have actors trying and failing to put on an authentic New Orleans accent and having it clunk on the eardrums of everybody from here. So there’s one character, for instance, who is portrayed by an actress with an Alabama accent, and so her backstory will be that she moved here from Alabama.

    As an aside, I can only think of a handful of NOLA bloggers who have anything resembling a New Orleans accent. Tim Ruppert, Dangerblond,….anybody else?

  2. March 25, 2010 2:51 pm

    Two words: Dennis Quaid.

    Hell, we all have New Orleans accents. Remind me to explain my theory about the convergence of sufficient Africans, Irish and Sicilians in a seaport to explain why people from New Orleans are often mistaken for New Yorkers, or Baltimoreans of what ever you would call them.

  3. March 25, 2010 3:30 pm

    Who is “me?”

  4. March 25, 2010 3:32 pm

    I think that’s dot-not-feathers.

  5. March 25, 2010 3:44 pm

    An International Man of Mystery. But you can call me Mysterioso for short.

  6. March 25, 2010 3:51 pm

    ahh. I believe I know one of your relatives. http://bit.ly/bLp4eS

  7. March 25, 2010 11:34 pm

    I have the same theory about the Yat accent with more of an emphasis on the Sicilian and Irish. There were actually some old timers in San Francisco when I growing up who had that Brooklyn thing partially going on. Those folks are long gone and the accent is gone as well.

  8. March 26, 2010 8:42 am

    I think that’s dot-not-feathers.

    Precisely. Don’t confuse those Uptown Indians with this Uptown Indian. I likes my sequins.

  9. March 26, 2010 10:09 am

    And now you’re a Cleveland Indian. (Ok, not Cleveland precisely but I couldn’t resist and had to beat Ray to the punch).

    Mark Folse Toulouse Street — Odd Bits of Life in New Orleans http://toulousestreet.net “You got to be a spirit! You can’t be no ghost.” –Rastaman the Griot

  10. March 26, 2010 11:52 am

    Twenty years ago, I acquired a baseball jersey that simply says INDIANS on it. (Haha, she’s clever.) A guy at Fahy’s recently told me that it’s a vintage Cleveland Indians jersey. Oh, the irony.

Comments are closed.

