Skip to content

Furthering the story?

June 1, 2011

So I keep seeing commenters here (and elsewhere) excited about the possibility, even the totally obvious inevitability, of a romantic relationship between Toni and Colson, as well as between Janette and Delmond.

Personally I don’t see either, so far anyway. Doesn’t mean I don’t think it might happen, or that people who want it are wrong, or that it would necessarily be a bad thing. My eyes just don’t see it, and I don’t buy the trope that two people being on the screen at the same time equals imminent hookup, even if said people have chemistry or appear to enjoy each other’s company.

So here’s a chance for those of you that see this happening, or conversely for those of you that don’t, to convince the rest of us.  But please note:

THIS IS NOT A POLL or IDLE SPECULATION

Meaning don’t just post “Delmond n’ Janette 4evuh” and leave.  In the comments below, make your case, and not just because you want it or because it supposedly happened to the alleged real-world counterparts of the characters, or because adversity brings people together.  Tell us why and how these romances or, for that matter, the new(ish) relationship of Annie and Davis, work for the fictional television drama Treme. Put yourself in the chair of the storyrunners and describe what a romantic relationship between these characters does (or doesn’t do) for this story, what resolution or fulfillment it accomplishes.

Knock yourself out, but stay on topic.

20 Comments
  1. wigatrisk permalink
    June 1, 2011 12:59 pm

    I don’t see the Toni/Terry relationship as a romantic one, at least from her perspective (and I don’t feel we’ve really been given enough of his to know yet). As I said in the Open Thread, she needs him primarily now as an affirmation of her choices. I could see the outward appearance of a romance to be the plot device that provokes a truth-telling confrontation with Sofia, but that seems a little too obvious to be likely.

  2. June 1, 2011 1:09 pm

    personally, I don’t see the Delmond and Janette relationship taking off, simply because even though they share similar passions they are travelling at different speeds. Delmond is way too methodical to keep pace with Janette, who’s world is every which-way but upside down. They had a star-crossed encounter with two ex-pats connecting in the New York universe…..two people connecting (with intersecting storylines) while trying to GET AWAY from NOLA, only to [possibly] ignite their love for it (the city they left). They share a moment, albeit brief, to launch them into their next life adventure….and that is the beauty of life; the time when you are truly living and experiencing something, NOT the beginning-to-end finality of a calendar (i.e. “adolescence” + “college”+”job”+”marriage”+”death”)

    I see it as the same type of arch as Davis and Annie…..they certainly don’t belong together and won’t last, but they serve a purpose for one another at this point in time (mainly to accelerate the characters by vamping off each other’s talents to accentuate what they love about the city).

    Jacque and Janette I could see – both understand one another and both have a history. Maybe its my mind trying to piece together the (future) Jazz Fest scene with the two together.

    Terry and Toni? While they are paired well with each other on screen and it would make sense from an emotional standpoint (“work life” taking over “home life”), how could Colson continue to have credibility in the department, as well as carry his load for the story (he is a pivotal LEO connection to an integral part of the continuing story of the city). It is going to be difficult to deliver the crime angle and what the NOPD had to deal with (from others and itself) during this time, if you don’t have an insider like Terry to tell it from (even though he is becoming less and less the classic authoritarian one would expect from a person of his role).

  3. virgotex permalink*
    June 1, 2011 1:16 pm

    as an affirmation of her choices

    yes, wigatrisk, I really liked that final bit about Toni believing in the system even after all she’s seen. She and Colson are IN the system and have somewhat similar goals of trying to make it work, but you wouldn’t call either of them rosy-eyed idealists

  4. brueso permalink
    June 1, 2011 1:25 pm

    I’d just say in general for me I find it’s more refreshing in fictional stories when people like Toni/Terry or Jacques/Janette DON’T end up romantically. A respectful supportive friendship between members of the opposite sex is too much of a rarity in television shows and films. But at the same time, adding a bit of flirtation can be interesting. In shows like Frazier or The Office, when the ‘will they or won’t they’ question gets answered ‘yes’, alot of the life seems to get drained out. As a friend used to say “The anticipation is much more interesting”.

  5. June 1, 2011 2:05 pm

    I do see the Toni/Terry thing, and the thing that clinched it for me was the “You workin’ on Sunday?” delivered so much like a teenager asking somebody out on a date for the first time. What it would do for the story is accentuate the roles as each others’ confidants. They can be entirely truthful with each other, because they both know all of the warts in their respective professions. Terry can complain about how Homicide is screwing up, because Toni will be sympathetic. Vice versa is true. A relationship would provide something like “marital privilege” for them both. This way, we as an audience would have an easy in for the insider knowledge as they relate to each other. So I agree with wigastrisk and brophy but draw the opposite conclusion.

    Here’s my opinion, an unbacked assertion, but I hope they do get together because they’re both so durned lonely it hurts.

  6. June 1, 2011 2:08 pm

    I think it says a lot about the degree to which romance has been fetishized in our entertainment and particularly television that if two characters of the opposite sex are depicted enjoying each other’s company socially, viewers see a budding relationship.

  7. Anita permalink
    June 1, 2011 2:51 pm

    I suppose I’m among the chief targets of this; I maintain that Terry really likes Toni. What I have never said is that Toni likes Terry THAT way. In fact I think she would be astonished to realize he is anything other than her like minded friend in the fight for justice.

    What I imagined plot wise was Sofia happening upon one of those lunches or other meetings between Toni and Terry and her suspicions and anger exploding into a confrontation accusing Toni of lying about everything, of not ever caring about Creigh or Sofia, of only thinking of her job, of conducting an adulterous affair with a policemen and then this angst is used to smear and discredit both Toni and Terry. Yes, I know, that could disturb the story’s entre to NOPD, but how seriously? I expect further disaster for Toni and, anyway, when did it get easier to be on the side of the angels in New Orleans? Sofia not only has agency, she has a YouTube account and knows how to use it. She’s probably got some followers by now. (Real life is a lot crazier: ask Anthony Weiner.)

  8. June 1, 2011 3:03 pm

    Alex is right. Antoine and Friend enjoying each other’s company in her FEMA trailer last season sure didn’t result in a relationship.

    I can see the Toni-Colson relationship blossoming into something else for Sofia to resent about the post-Creigh world. She still holds her dad’s banner while The Liar has moved on. Or, between Colson and Oliver Thomas, she may find hope and have some sense smacked into her yet.

    Not feeling it with Delmond and Janette or Jacques and Janette. There, I see friends and expats holding on to one another. Having said this, friendship and attraction aren’t mutually exclusive. If Jacques looked at me like he looked at Janette, um *blush*fireworks*butterflies*squeeee*

  9. virgotex permalink*
    June 1, 2011 3:26 pm

    Anita-

    No “targeting” intended. It’s something I’ve noticed on other sites too, not just this one. I’m curious and we needed a new post.

    Feels like Rain opens with Toni’s dream, which appears oddly bright and happy, considering it reminds us about the real life Mardi Gras parade leavetaking we saw last season, which turned out to be a sad day for the Bernettes.

    And the episode closes with Toni and Colson ( and Sofia ) having a great day at the Pigeon Town Steppers second line. Maybe that means Colson has a place beyond friend in Toni’s life, for the reasons y’all have mentioned. I dunno. It doesn’t make me think about a specific Colson-Toni connection as much as it seems to symbolize Toni coming back to life (as opposed to just working her ass off) which she needs to do pronto if she wants to connect with Sofia. I also flashed back to sad Toni ghosting along on the sidelines of Daymo’s second line after denying Creighton’s request for one.

  10. June 1, 2011 5:17 pm

    Loving this thread!

    BTW, we don’t know for sure if Toni denied Creigh’s request. She said she was going to, but the season ended before Creigh’s funeral, so we don’t actually know if she followed through on that threat. That topic has been much discussed here at the house.

    Colson/Toni: Yes, I saw what Anita saw i.e. “the teenager” asking about Sunday. And poor Colson sitting in that trailer on Christmas broke my heart. We don’t know his backstory at all (like who sent him the red snowflake socks for Christmas?), just as we know nothing of Toni’s backstory pre-Creighton. Romance? I do think that right now they are two folks who are very very lonely and who get each other. Colson was willing to go try the second line from, I think he put it as “this side.” He wouldn’t have done it alone. Toni might have gone with Sofia but would have been thinking about Creigh the whole time. Right now I think they just let each other have some time off from their respective lonely cells.

    Janette/Delmond. Nah. I don’t think so. I think they’ll be friends but I’m not seeing romance there.

    Janette/Jacques. That one I can see. She gets him out of jail, someone mentioned the line about a sous chef relationship being for life, and they decide to a. marry to keep him legally in the country (ha! Just thought of that.) and b. work hard at Bayona or something and save up to start their own restaurant bringing Janette back home. She trusts him implicitly and I’ve always said that the looks he gave her when she couldn’t pay the bills, etc. looked like huge crush to me. (“You are my chef for life.”) For the record, when this theory was mentioned to Ntare Mwine a couple weeks ago, he seemed surprised that so many of us were seeing this as a possibility. His response? “From your mouth to God’s ear.” Naturally, though, no one gave anything away so we all can just sit here pondering that one. That’s the most natural of the various partnerships mentioned in my opinion.

    Davis/Annie. It’ll run its course and will end amicably, both being too busy really for an actual relationship. They’ll be okay with it and will probably always be friends. She may, however, still use his house as a home base once she starts touring, which I think is inevitable down the road (possibly even next season as opposed to this where she seems to be trying to find her road map.)

    Now, what about partnerships no one has seen yet? We’re all worried about Sofia, and I have to say I had a hard time watching her this week when the inevitable truth came out, albeit via a conduit that wasn’t Toni. Sofia and a boyfriend? She is 16, and so far has been fairly family-centric and scholastically oriented. She could toss the whole shebang out the window and find some guy (a terribly typical reaction for a girl who lost her dad–ask me, I know. And it’s NEVER a good choice) who dances her to the edge. Rebellion, revenge, daddy-seeking all rolled up in one underachieving bad boy. Toni will try to put the brakes on it, but Sofia isn’t gonna listen to a damn thing Toni says for a long, long time.

  11. doctorj2u permalink
    June 1, 2011 6:38 pm

    I can’t look at this as a writer or as a story vehicle because I am not a writer and always hated English in high school and college. I am a science nerd. I do have respect for the people that can create great art, though. I look at these characters as people living through the horror that was post Katrina New Orleans. I hate the idea of Colson and Toni going through that horror alone. I won’t say Toni and Colson 4 ever, but it is nice to me that they each have someone to talk to.

  12. dexter permalink
    June 1, 2011 11:41 pm

    We have been given no indication the Toni-Terry connection will involve romance. I am content to watch this line develop. Yeah, I was hoping a spark would occur, but nothing is tilted towards a romance.

    Annie needs to keep searching for fulfillment. She’s just passing through Davis’s life. She is getting noticed, but not yet is she ready for prime-time. She still is at the stage of accidental plagiarism. Harley is keeping her straight with that. Harley ? Where’s his love interest?
    I guess not all characters have room to be fleshed out into relationships.
    http://www.billboard.com/features/steve-earle-2011-album-preview-1004139922.story#/features/steve-earle-2011-album-preview-1004139922.story

    Janette. She wants to cook with no burdens of financial pressures. She gets her sous chef back, he works for her. That is the definition of sous chef….second in command. Not co-chef, not co-boss, no. The sous chef in a lieutenant, not a commander. Janette and Jacques? It seems impossible. Of all the possible romances being discussed on this thread, that is the one that should never happen.

    Janette and Delmond? Never. Two ships passed in the night and didn’t dock. Sometimes you just want someone to share your Sazerac with.

  13. Anita permalink
    June 2, 2011 2:57 am

    virgotex: oh my, I didn’t mean you were calling us out! I really love the idea of having this discussion and wanted to acknowledge that I actually had been calling for it! Thank you.

    The only thing that suggests to me a Jacques/Janette pairing is that Jacques (or maybe it’s just Ntare Mwine himself ) is so strongly attractive in his scenes with Janette. All his scenes seem to be with Janette so it’s hard to tell if he’s playing it that way or if he just talks and looks like that. (Maitri, I agree with you; I’m old enough to be your grandmother and I think he’s sexier than truffles.) Still, last season, when Janette went to his house to ask him to join her traveling catering gig and he said he’d started working for Susan Spicer, there was a friend or flatmate standing there with him and I just made a mental note at the time that Jacques might be gay.

    Sam, about Sofia and a bad boy, I just wondered if we had one lying around. I think her next step is some kind of acting out but maybe not this one. Maybe drugs first. (OMG, is Sonny going to start dealing?)

    LaDonna. First time we’ve seen her without a drink since it happened. Maybe that was a beer she put her cigarette out in but up until then, it’d been liquor and she’s been holding it very close. I have a little hope now that she might come back. I don’t know how she can go back to the bar, especially if Larry finds out about the rape. There is no way she can testify without Larry finding out, is there?

    Dexter, I think that’s a good call. I’m enjoying Janette and Delmond as two ships passing in the night. Annie and Davis are cute but not serious.

  14. wigatrisk permalink
    June 2, 2011 6:48 am

    Totally obvious? Clearly: Nelson + Davis, united by a shared love of music and fine wine.

  15. virgotex permalink*
    June 2, 2011 10:02 am

    Maitri, I agree with you; I’m old enough to be your grandmother and I think he’s sexier than truffles.

    hey I’m old AND a dyke, and I think so too. (see “gay not blind”)

  16. June 2, 2011 12:28 pm

    I just made a mental note at the time that Jacques might be gay

    Anita: Interesting that you say that. In the last episode, right after Jacques put the jail phone under his chin and stared at Janette with those dreamy eyes, I remarked to D, “Oh, those two should just hook up and get it over with.” To which D replied, “Nope, he’s gay.”

    Wonder where we get our gut feelings (right or wrong) from.

    P.S. I’ve been thinking about a renewed relationship between Antoine and LaDonna, which would move her back to NOLA, but she’s not going to leave her mom and kids in Baton Rouge with her husband. And we wouldn’t want Desiree to be sidelined (*cough* more Phyllis Montana LeBlanc, please *cough*). I’m not prepared to let LaDonna go like that, though. You know, Virgo, I love essay questions but it is hard work coming up with future relationship paths that keep the story going strong.

  17. June 2, 2011 4:29 pm

    I’m with brueso about male-female friendship relationships far too rare in television, movies and fiction. With the formulaic expectations we have now after so many centuries of stories, as you all say, put a male and female together on the screen and we must expect romance or some simulacrum thereof.

    But real friendships forged through shared experiences and interests between straught men and women? Evidently the entertainment and other businesses don’t feel that’s good for their business. But I find them fascinating because these aren’t all the same and the trajectories have different and individual directions.

    Over here I’ve no particular expectations of any one of these possible coupling-ups, and am happy to see what does happen, whatever it is, with all the characters and everything that makes up their lives. That’s one of the reasons I love the Simon productions so much — they are NOT about hooking up.

    But, hmmmmm, down the line, how about Delmond and Annie? :)

    Love, C.

  18. June 2, 2011 4:35 pm

    One more thing — it hasn’t been a year yet since Creighton died, so much too soon for Toni to be able to have another relationship, since he did mean so much to her and she clearly misses who he was before he got so depressed?

    Love, C.

  19. Breny permalink
    June 2, 2011 7:08 pm

    From the first time I saw Jacques look at Janette with those eyes (those eyes!) I sensed he could be easily enticed into Janette’s bed. I’m with Maitri and the rest, if he looked at me like that, I’d be toast. When he described the desserts to Janette’s parents last season, it was like he was describing sex on a plate. Sadly, I could see Janette breaking his heart with a quick romp, but Jacques would never let on. She’d still be his “chef forever.”

    A Janette/Delmond romance is a no-go. There’s no chemistry, just the camraderie of New Orleanian expats.

    With Toni/Terry, I sense chemistry. I think he’s been aware of it for a while, but I think Toni might be catching on, hence the second line invite. I was afraid Sofia would see the invite as a betrayal of Creigh. If a relationship does develop, I expect Sofia to react negatively.

  20. June 2, 2011 11:44 pm

    I’m kind of with the people who like the idea of a true close friendship between Toni and Terry instead of a romance. The thing I noticed this week is, for the first time he is really losing his shit at people about how fucked up the NOPD is…not just doing Morse’s trademark cocking-a-bemused-eyebrow look, not just trying to make excuses or explain things away as part of the Katrina chaos, but being furious. And one of the people he confides in is Toni. He tells her about the FUBARed Helen Hill investigation, says “It’s bad enough if we had our act together. Homicide’s a fucking train wreck.” For a high-level officer to have that kind of conversation with a known pit bull of a civil rights lawyer displays an inordinate amount of personal trust. The tenor of their conversations is different from last season or from a few weeks ago. There is a closeness there.

    Whether it becomes romantic or not, I don’t really care either way at this point.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,748 other followers

