Skip to content

Krewe du Oops

May 19, 2010

I stopped playing reality police after the first episode but there were a couple of Krewe du Vieux related bloopers that are worthy of attention. The big oops was Creighton’s kid parading with Spermes: she’s a doll but she’s too young. You have to be of age to parade with us; especially in what one of my Krewe of PAN friends calls “the penisy groups.” It was also weird that while there was a kid parading there were none on the route. It’s an educational experience for children and their parents when the latter have to explain a dude in a dick suit to their offspring.

There was also a typo in the credits. It’s Panorama Jazz Band, not Panoramic. For the uninitiated, Panorama is one of the most interesting bands in town since they’re led by a nice Jewish boy, Ben Schenck, and play a mixture of jazz, klezmer and a bit of everything else. Wild eclecticism. They, of course, usually parade with the Krewe of Mishigas as opposed to at the beginning of the parade but it was good to see them doing that voodoo that they do so well.

This was the episode that I appeared in as an extra and I can be seen very briefly under the tri-color as the Buy Us Back, Chirac float turns the corner. My friend Elliott is in Spermes and can be seen hammhawking it up behind Creigh and Toni.

Okay, now that I’ve name dropped and nitpicked, here are a few random comments that have naught to do with the post title:

  • I love the additional separation between Creighton and my late friend the Mime. I missed the “I salute you, Ashley Morris” line the first time I watched but I’m glad they slid it in. Btw, Ashley would have thought that Davis’ campaign was hilarious: he and I were both devotees of Quentin Brown’s equally bizarre but less elaborate campaign antics. Davis, however, is indeed a bozo but he’s our bozo.
  • I really enjoyed the scene at McAlary manor. The look on Davis’ mother’s face when the name Jacques Morial was mentioned was spot on. It was also cool to see Gret Stet native Elizabeth Ashley turn up as Davis’ bibulous Aunt Mimi. I hope we see her again.
  • The heartbreaking scene this time around was Janette’s being forced to suspend operations of her eatery. I have friends and family in the restaurant business and it’s a hard one with surprisingly (to outsiders) low profit margins. It’s not enough to be an excellent chef: you’ve got to be able to pinch pennies until they squeal.
  • Toni’s scenes were stellar. I loved the con job she pulled on the Lake Charles police to get access to the runaway cops’ cruiser. She looked like the cat who ate all the cream whilst parading at the end, which is appropriate since it was Spermes.

I cannot believe that I just used appropriate and Spermes in the same sentence. Oh well, there’s a first time for everything. And on that highbrow note, it’s time for me to close…

UPDATE: Liprap informs me that Ben isn’t Jewish. I’ll stand by the nice part.

59 Comments
  1. liprap permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:12 am

    Ben’s not Jewish, Shecky. We’ve made that mistake, too, as we see him at least once a year at our synagogue when he and Panorama play JazzFest Shabbat.

  2. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:13 am

    Really? I’m surprised. Oy vey.

  3. May 19, 2010 11:14 am

    I watched part of it again last night and Janette’s story line is such a heart-breaker. When she and Jacques were talking about how great the food they’d been putting out had been. How he suggested what a great job they’d done with the Cheferati, the wince on Jacques’ face when she replied in the first person singular. Then, seconds later, how she rested her head in her hands as she sat at the bar and he almost reached out to her from his spot standing behind it, but stopped himself. He loves her.

    I saw Elliott but missed you. Oh, darn. Will have to watch again. I so loved Simon’s shout out to Ashley, also that @hbo’s been pimping Ashley Morris, The Blog on Twitter.

  4. liprap permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:17 am

    So were we. Oy vey iz mir, dude.

  5. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 11:27 am

    I missed myself the first time too, Sharon. Some of my PAN friends told me where to look. The Summas rock.

  6. May 19, 2010 12:13 pm

    The scene at McAlary manor was like something out of Walker Percy. I wonder if the screenwriter had The Moviegoer in mind.

  7. louweezy permalink
    May 19, 2010 12:35 pm

    I also noticed Jacques’ reaction to the first-person singular (I buried ‘em). And he said Oui! (I think he meant We!) Fun with homonyms.

  8. May 19, 2010 12:42 pm

    It’s safe to consider that Tom P. is familiar with Percy.

    Love, C.

  9. May 19, 2010 12:48 pm

    Ben & Panorama rock our King Arthur float as well. Especially when they play Bolly-klezmer, the best kind!

    Yup, saw the Hammhawk in there, too. And the lovely King and Queen of Comatose.

    Didn’t one of the Antoine Spawn show up to watch the parade? I didn’t catch the “Hey Daddy” bit (busy looking for all of my friends) so can’t be sure.

  10. May 19, 2010 12:55 pm

    The big oops was Creighton’s kid parading with Spermes: she’s a doll but she’s too young.

    I doubt this was a “blooper”. It’s one of those “little lies” that Simon has already admitted that they include, intentionally, in the service of driving the story and the characters. The marital friction in the Bernette family is turning out to be a major factor this season. Dramatizing that friction, their conflicting views on what is and isn’t appropriate public behavior, what is and isn’t a “proper” investment in one’s time, and what is and isn’t the right way to raise a teenage daughter, all of these things can be shown in a more crystal clear manner rather than told in an awkward one, simply by involving Sophie in KdV. Are there other ways this could have been dramatized? Probably. Would something have been lost by doing it another way? Possibly. Is what would have been lost more or less important than getting the relatively minor detail of the 18+ krewe restriction correct? Probably only the writers can say because they’re likely the only ones who have spent much time puzzling out all the alternatives, but I’m guessing they made the right decision. Certainly having a mature 15 year old in the parade where only a true 18 year old would be allowed didn’t clunk heavily on my brain, any more than an edible Hubig’s pie in November ’05 did.

  11. May 19, 2010 12:57 pm

    Yeah. A new son we’ve never heard of. And Antoine says “Say hi to your mom for me. And your sister too”.

    Man gets around. I wonder if he’s ever tried to burn his clothes to get the pussy smell off. Wendell’s characters are hell on fine men’s clothing, I tell you what.

  12. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 12:58 pm

    It clunked on my brain because of my experience on the shoot. The crowd looked better onscreen than it did while we were there but it weren’t a KdV crowd either.

  13. liprap permalink
    May 19, 2010 1:53 pm

    I’ll be disappointed if no one decides to get a group masking together as the Spawn d’Antoine this coming Mardi Gras. The man’s doing his bit to repopulate New Orleans, you’ve got to give him that. ;-)

  14. May 19, 2010 1:59 pm

    Looked like a typical KdV crowd to me, and didn’t look noticeably different from photos taken at the actual event.

  15. May 19, 2010 2:12 pm

    The reality nazis have me questioning my OWN reality sometimes. The other day I got some Beignets at CDM and then ate them in front of my art at Jackson Square. I thought, “Would this really happen?”

  16. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 2:18 pm

    It was the editing, Ray. I’m not the only one who thought it wasn’t a typical KdV crowd the night of the shoot.

  17. May 19, 2010 2:30 pm

    Well, yeah, of course it was the editing. It’s a TV show. It’s like, film and acting and shit. I don’t get it, you’re saying the finished product looked real but it didn’t look real from the vantage point of an extra?

  18. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 2:36 pm

    One last time: this is really a minor point. There were several blocks lined with a crowd that didn’t look that much like the KdV 2006 crowd but the editing process improved upon it. There were people drinking out of hand grenade cups for example, something I’ve never seen in the Marigny during KdV. All I can tell you is what I saw while there and how I perceived it.

  19. samjasper permalink
    May 19, 2010 3:11 pm

    For the record, Davis and I, oops, I mean Davis and Aunt Mimi were drinking out of Port of Call cups. I have indeed seen many of them along the KdV route. Dinner and a parade, Aunt Mimi? Yeah, baby, a great big steak, several large potent drinks, and a skewering of all things Flood related sounds good to me. And, darlin’, Port of Call has BIG cups. After the parade, can we see if they put the blackjack machines on the streetcars yet?

  20. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 3:25 pm

    Port of Call fine. Hand grenade cups? No. I guess someone told them that product placement for Earl wasn’t necessary or something.

    I’ve had a lot of positive feedback from KdV members who aren’t crazy about the kid marching in Treme either. One person’s magic Hubig’s Pie is another person’s blooper. So it goes.

  21. May 19, 2010 3:51 pm

    Louweezy. I also noticed the oui/we. It made me think of Inglourious Basterds, but that’s a different story altogether.

  22. May 19, 2010 3:54 pm

    + 1

  23. May 19, 2010 4:13 pm

    I thank my stars every day that I’ve never had to attend a “the restaurant is going to close for a coupla days, and maybe permanently” meeting. Though I’ve seen plenty of fallout from them. While lifers & owners are usually a resiliant bunch, it permanently scars your heart to see someone’s dream implode.

    And in the service industry, a bad situation can snowball so quickly it can give you whiplash. This storyline has captured a snapshot the food shows tend to gloss over.

  24. Kevin permalink
    May 19, 2010 4:54 pm

    I’m so old I can remember when parents didn’t bring kids to watch KdV; it was probably the only Mardi Gras parade with almost no children in the crowd.

    Now it’s just, hey, whatever:

    Tayler, it’s a giant papier-mache priest eating out a nun!

    Bryttanie, take a couple of steps back so the drunk dressed as a giant cock-n-balls doesn’t step on your Dora the Explorer sneakers…

  25. kerlerec permalink
    May 19, 2010 6:29 pm

    adrastosno — thanks for your post. sofia marching in the krewe du vieux was creative license, for storytelling reasons. we knew she was too young, technically. but we needed her there. the panorama credit was somebody’s mistake — we’ll get it fixed. thanks for pointing that out. as far as the crowd and the extras — we rounded up as many kduv extras as we could interest and had to fill out the crowd and the parade with civilians. we did the best we could. and real civilians came and went that night during the shooting — doubtless a couple of them had hand grenades. there was a lot of real drinking going on. and there’s only so much you can — or want to — control in a situation like that. the crucial question isn’t how it looks on the day, during the filming, it’s how it looks when it’s on the screen. and we thought it ended up looking pretty great. and we couldn’t have done it without the krewe du vieux sub krewes who participated, especially spermes and pan. so a big thanks to all you all. no matter what you thought of the episode as a whole, that last image was something to go out on. eric overmyer

  26. May 19, 2010 6:58 pm

    Yah. Varg achieves meta_cool. Excellent.

  27. Blake permalink
    May 19, 2010 7:51 pm

    If we’re going to correct details, let’s be precise: Ben Schenck’s band is called The Panorama Brass Band, not The Panorama Jazz Band.

  28. May 19, 2010 8:15 pm

    I once saw Varg eating beignets in front of his art and I thought it looked totally fake.

  29. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 9:04 pm

    @Eric: Thanks for the comment. I’ve liked 95% of y’all’s creative decisions but not this one. It fits too neatly into the “people in NOLA are decadent” stereotype. I do actually love the show. You do indeed get the big things right.

    @Blake: Click on the link: this was their brass band configuration but Panorama goes by both names.

  30. kerlerec permalink
    May 19, 2010 9:31 pm

    I don’t see it as decadent at all. It’s really about the Bernette family dynamic. I don’t think it reflects badly on either New Orleans or Krewe du Vieux. But, if you get a lot of requests from minors to parade in Krewe du Vieux, blame it on us — unlike y’all, we really are decadent. And thanks again for y’all’s help on the episode — we really wanted our representation of KduV to be good — and we’re proud of it.

  31. liprap permalink
    May 19, 2010 9:45 pm

    The kids CAN help build the floats…we don’t object to child labor, just to children marching alongside vaginas, penii, and depictions of the governor of Louisiana screwing a pelican.

  32. adrastosno permalink
    May 19, 2010 9:50 pm

    @Eric. We’ll just have to agree to disagree on this point. I have, however, heard of several teenyboppers who’ve asked their Kdv parents why they can’t parade since Sofia did.

    Btw, I actually enjoyed the shoot but I have a legal education so I tend to tear things apart and analyze them. My Captain has spoken very highly of you.

  33. brueso permalink
    May 20, 2010 1:32 am

    indeed.

  34. kerlerec permalink
    May 20, 2010 5:35 am

    we shall agree to disagree. and just tell those kids tell creighton bernette is a baaad parent. (now if they’d let Sofia parade next to the Jindal copulating with the pelican float — THAT’s where I would have drawn the line. THAT’s decadent. Loved that float. I was standing on Royal and St. Philip and I laughed til I cried. if we have a fifth season THAT float is coming back! And Sofia will eighteen! She’ll be there too!)

  35. greg p permalink
    May 20, 2010 6:21 am

    I can guarantee that no one in the viewing audience was looking at the crowd and thinking, that looks off.

    (Thought it might have been a little sparse, myself, but I spent a few weeks as a “Secretariat” extra last fall and know that every crowd in the movie is the same 60 people, so hey.)

  36. greg p permalink
    May 20, 2010 6:22 am

    Know *that*. Boy, I wish this thing had an edit/delete function.

  37. Virgotex permalink
    May 20, 2010 7:09 am

    I can guarantee that no one in the viewing audience was looking at the crowd and thinking, that looks off

    srsly! Half of the people reading this blog didn’t even catch Antoine’s son calling out “Daddy!” fer cryin’ out loud.

  38. wigatrisk permalink
    May 20, 2010 7:35 am

    Braha! Exactly. From up here in Nwfld the scene looked great. As an academic I get what motivates the “only march behind” police but I’d rather sacrifice that for Toni’s awesome line about sperm so often leading the way.

  39. May 20, 2010 7:48 am

    I understand the objections of some (who feel the necessary discomfort when walking around youth while dressed as certain body parts) to this cinematic adaptation of the krewe. I also know that, in reality (which Treme is not), being under-aged has serious legal connotations.

    That right there should be the extent of any worry. Not whether Krewe du Vieux is viewed as NOLA-decadent or inappropriate. Shit, that’s the only reason I continue to be a loving member of the krewe (and think most of the floats are too tame).

  40. May 20, 2010 8:13 am

    Verisimilitude is an ambiguous word. “Similar or close to the truth; quality of realism”. How close to the truth or resemblance to reality? Stranger than truth? How does one measure the quality of realism? Is it only in the details? As a non-New Orleanian, I have to echo Greg’s comment on sparse. The KdV parades that I have seen are densely raucous, in the best possible way.
    But I have only seen the parades on a screen so my perspective is very very limited. Adrastos, I am glad you pointed out the shout out to Ashley. That did it for me.

  41. virgotex permalink*
    May 20, 2010 9:03 am

    Exactly. Like watching a magician. The audience member who’s interested in the narrative is going to willingly follow the camera. Suspension of disbelief is a non-binding contract you agree to with your storyteller, and in return you are rewarded with the rest of that chapter or verse or scene.

    And that’s much more rewarding than taking the storyteller to small claims court.

  42. May 20, 2010 9:33 am

    Half of the people reading this blog didn’t even catch Antoine’s son calling out “Daddy!” fer cryin’ out loud.

    For reals, girl!

    I’ve watched the KdV scene like six times, and if there are hand grenade cups there, they’re even harder to spot than Adrastos.

    Actually, at points in the parade the crowd can get a little sparse (sparser than what was shown on screen). Royal St in the Quarter tends to be pretty thick, but there are places in the Marigny and on the long stretch of Decatur where it thins out. Although I wouldn’t recommend watching it on Decatur; by then people are running out of throws and the parade is so spread out that we have to run to keep up.

    Also, the Jacques/Janette scene in the restaurant, there was no first-person plural vs. singular conflict. He said “you killed those chefs”, she said “I buried ‘em”, he said “oui”. I’m really looking forward to the Jacque’s Place spin-off, though. Man needs his own show, he’s pretty awesome.

  43. May 20, 2010 9:44 am

    Letter Man to the rescue!

    With great power comes great responsibility. However, anybody that really pisses me off gets turned into a drooling MacAlary fan-boy.

  44. Adrastos permalink
    May 20, 2010 9:54 am

    The sparseness or lack thereof was never my problem. There are indeed parts of the route in the Marigny that are tame-ish: Frenchmen Street is the first big gaggle.

    I’ve watched the scene a lot and I was glad not to see the hand grenade cups but they were handed out by low level staff. The thing I noticed that evening was that the higher up the ladder you went the more concerned they were with getting an approximation of reality.

  45. louweezy permalink
    May 20, 2010 9:58 am

    Ben has 2 bands with similar names and overlapping membership: The parading Panorama Brass Band (shown in Treme), and the nightclub-/festival-playing Panorama Jazz Band (the one that records cds). I love them both.

  46. greg p permalink
    May 20, 2010 11:08 am

    Does anyone else notice a little longing on Jacques’ part? Like when Janette is reeling about something in this last episode and he reaches out to touch her, but pulls back. Anyone else think he fancies her, or am I just wish-projecting my fetish for hot IR lovin’?

  47. May 20, 2010 11:10 am

    I would watch “Jacque’s Place” every single day and then watch re-runs. I heart him.

    A.

  48. greg p permalink
    May 20, 2010 11:10 am

    Ah, I see you did pick up on Jacques’ crush. We’ll see.

  49. Scott Harney permalink
    May 20, 2010 1:56 pm

    The fact that there was a 15yr old in this depiction probably won’t substantially change the perception of those who already see new Orleans as thoroughly decadent. Any reasonably accurate depiction of KdV — with or without creative license minor marchers — would only server to buttress that preconceived notion. too bad for them, I say

    The Nagin float actually shown was relatively tame compared to many floats I’ve seen.

  50. liprap permalink
    May 20, 2010 2:01 pm

    I don’t think you’re the only one, Greg. It’s another thing she can’t see.

  51. May 20, 2010 3:21 pm

    Eric, obviously you’d know better than me, but I am only making one largely-unsubstantiated wild-ass prediction and that is that Sophie doesn’t live to see Season 5.

  52. virgotex permalink*
    May 20, 2010 3:53 pm

    poor ray. Dark much?

    You never really got over Wallace, did you?

  53. samjasper permalink
    May 20, 2010 3:55 pm

    Actually, having been at that parade, the crowd WAS sparse by KdV standards. Not everyone was home by then and Zulu had lost so many people it was already actively looking for new members so that they could parade on Mardi Gras day. Hell, the whole damn city was “sparse.”

  54. May 20, 2010 4:13 pm

    Hey, man, she’s the only child who is a major character (so far), so she’s notable. She’s about to have a really fucked up home life. And a big deal was made about her going to Lusher. I have a feeling she’s not just there to wear a cute sperm suit and play “Tipitina”. And it’s a Simon joint, aka “the giant wheels of fate in post-industrial America are going to grind your children into bone meal”.

    But yeah, dark. Spend a few weeks alone in the house with a back injury and a stomach virus, reading Homicide and The Moviegoer and The Road and Shake The Devil Off, you’d be feeling pretty morose too at that point.

    I need a banana split and some Teletubbies and a hug.

  55. greg p permalink
    May 20, 2010 6:24 pm

    Funny, I had that same passing thought, but I can’t remember what prompted it. I don’t know if I buy the idea completely — just as I don’t give as much credence to the Creighton-and-Toni will split predictions (I know they’re stressed and he’s depressed and she hides her in her work, but hey, everyone is stressed, and we already have how many other couples facing tremendous pressures and stresses? Oh wait, all of them!) — but someone’s gonna buy it by mid-season 3, for sure. Besides Annie, I mean.

    I’m wondering if, after making Davis a figure of fun for a season or two, he becomes a tragic figure later on, maybe by negligently causing someone’s death / not saving someone, etc — not actively killing or causing with malice, I mean just by being him.

  56. May 20, 2010 8:52 pm

    I don’t remember the crowd because that was the coldest fucking KdV evah and I was busy … um … keeping myself warm through the course of the walk.

  57. May 21, 2010 8:41 pm

    “The thing I noticed that evening was that the higher up the ladder you went the more concerned they were with getting an approximation of reality.”

    Adrastos, this clarifies things for a malaka like me who’s never been.

Trackbacks

  1. Music Of Treme News Roundup – May 19, 2010
  2. Music Of Treme News Roundup – May 20, 2010

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,748 other followers

